Though the Federal Government of Nigeria has stated emphatically that Tuesday June 12th is not a national holiday, Lagos and Ogun States, which has been marking the death of Chief MKO Abiola every June 12 as public holidays for years now, has gone ahead to declare that this 2018 won’t be an exemption. Schools, and all public parastatals are thus looking forward to a day off work as we all mourn Abiola. Needless to say that there has been much buzz about MKO in Lagos and environs since Thursday June 7th as Nigerians mourn the only credible winner in a national election so far.

However it seems the present administration does not intend to let the day slip by just like that, as they have set June 12th 2018, out as a day to confer national honours on Abiola and other prominent Nigerians.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, released the statement to that effect on Friday June 9th announcing modalities for the conferment of national honours on late multibillionaire businessman cum politician, Moshood Abiola; late prominent lawyer, Gani Fawehinmi and politician, Babagana Kingibe.

Read full statement below.


Following the historic designation of June 12 as DEMOCRACY DAY and NATIONAL HOLIDAY, Muhammadu Buhari, President, Federal Republic of Nigeria, will confer Post-Humous national honours on Chief M.K.O. Abiola as Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), Chief Gani Fawehinmi as the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON). He will also decorate Ambassador Babagana Kingibe with the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON), at an investiture scheduled to take place as follows:-

DATE: Tuesday, June 12 2018

VENUE: Conference Hall, State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja

TIME: 10.00 am

  1. Accordingly, Ambassador Babagana Kingibe , the family of the late Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi , along with the under listed key players of June 12 struggle are cordially invited:

Members of the National Executive Committee of the SDP including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993

Governors elected under SDP platform

Former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform

Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform

All Chairmen of the States Traditional Councils from the six South-Western States

Prof. Wole Soyinka

Mr. Femi Falana, SAN

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu/

Chief Bisi Akande

Ms. Ayo Obe

Bayo Onanuga – The News

Kunle Ajibade – Tempo

Nosa Igiebor – Tell

Kayode Komolafe – Media Hope 93

Senator Janathan Zwingina – DG Hope 93

Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori

Prof. Humphrey Nwosu

  1. Also invited are Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors.
  2. Accommodation has been reserved for all invitees at the NICON Luxury Hotel, Tafawa Balewa Way, area 11, Garki, Abuja from Monday, 11th June 2018. For further inquiries please contact William Alo, Permanent Secretary, Special Duties Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation by telephone on +234 803 585 4332.
  3. Invitation letters have been despatched. However, should the invitation arrive late, this publication serves as a formal invitation.


Boss Mustapha

Secretary to the Government of the Federation

This move by the Buhari government is good and they should be commended for this thoughtful act, for as daughter of MKO Abiola, Dr Hafsat Abioa-Costello rightly said at an event this year “This democracy we enjoy today was bought at a very high price”. How could we ever forget that? Rest On Abiola.

Photo Credit- dailypost.ng

Do you think Abiola and others deserve the national honour?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.