Benue, Plateau, Bauchi, Sokoto, Governors Win Again, While APC’s Ganduje Wins Rerun Elections

After the March 9th governorship elections, some results in some states were declared inconclusive by INEC and so a rerun election was scheduled for March 23. The rerun elections held in the following 6 states, Benue, Bauchi, Kano, Plateau, Adamawa and Sokoto.

In the results which were called out by INEC on Sunday, March 24, Benue’s PDP candidate Gov Ortom won again, same with Aminu Tambuwal PDP governor of Sokoto State, as well as Bala Muhamed PDP governor of Bauchi State.

APC governor, Solomon Lalong of Plateau State, retained his position as governor of the state. However, Kano State rerun elections witnesses a twist, as the PDP which won massively in the last governorship elections, lost this time. The unpopular and controversial APC governor Ganduje was declared winner in the elections by INEC.

This move has however caused a lot of chaos, as Kano State citizens took to the streets yesterday in protest. Stating emphatically that INEC should not tamper with the will of the people. As they clearly did not vote for Ganduje.

Adamawa State, which witnessed some level of violence during the elections, the results are still being expected as at press time

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.