Revealed: President Buhari’s Campaigners & 35 Others Get Crude Oil Contracts

Information published by PUNCH reveals that the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), has awarded its 2019/2020 contracts for the exchange of crude oil for imported petroleum products to 15 consortiums/companies, which includes Casiva Limited. The Chairman of Casiva Limited is  Alhaji Nasiru Danu, who was the Director of Logistics for the Buhari Campaign Organisation.

The 15 groupings and 36 companies in total, will participate in the 2019/2020 Direct Sale of crude oil and Direct Purchase of petroleum product arrangement, as was released in a statement.

DSDP scheme of the NNPC, is supposed to allot crude supplies to companies, including international trading houses and indigenous companies, in exchange for the delivery petrol and other refined products.

The NNPC, followed the completion of the 2019/2020 DSDP tender exercise, 15 aqconsortia/companies, which are made up of reputable and experienced international companies and Nigerian downstream companies who emerged successful, according to its Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division, Mr Ndu Ughamadu. Thus why they were awarded the one year contract effective October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020.

The listed winners are BP Oil International Ltd

AYM Shafa Ltd

Vitol SA/Calson-Hyson

Totsa Total Oil Trading SA

Total Nigeria Plc

Gunvor International B.V.

AY Maikifi Oil & Gas Co. Ltd

Trafigura Pte Ltd

A. Rano Nigeria Ltd

Cepsa S.A.U.

Oando Plc

Mocoh SA

Mocoh Nigeria Ltd

Litasco SA

Brittania-U Nigeria Ltd

Freepoint Commodities.

Others include MRS Oil & Gas Company Ltd

Sahara Energy Resource Ltd

Bono Energy Ltd

Eterna Plc

Arkleen Oil & Gas Ltd

Amazon Energy

Matrix Energy Ltd

Petratlantic Energy Ltd

UTM Offshore Ltd

Levene Energy Development Ltd.

The rest are Mercuria Energy Trading SA

Barbedos Oil & Gas Services Ltd

Rainoil Ltd

Petrogas Energy

Asian Oil & Gas Pte Ltd

Eyrie Energy Ltd

Masters Energy Oil & Gas Ltd

Casiva Ltd

Duke Oil Company Incorporated.

While everything looked and sounded so good on paper, further diggings revealed that Mr Yakubu Maishanu is the chairman/Chief Executive Officer of AYM Shafa Ltd; Alhaji Adamu Maikifi, chairman, AY Maikifi Oil & Gas Co. Ltd; Alhaji Auwalu Rano, chairman/CEO, A.A. Rano Nigeria Ltd; chairman/CEO; Mr Wale Tinubu, group managing director, Oando Plc; Mrs Uju Ifejika, chairman/CEO, Brittania-U Nigeria Ltd.

MRS Oil & Gas Company is a subsidiary of MRS Holdings Limited, founded by Alhaji Sayyu Dantata. Mr Patrice Alberti was appointed as the chairman of the company following the resignation of Dantata in July 2017.

Sahara Energy Resource Ltd, a subsidiary of Sahara Group, was co-founded by Mr Tonye Cole, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in Rivers State for the 2019 elections, who also resigned as the chairman of the company before the elections.

Eterna Plc has Mr Lamis Dikko as its chairman and Mr Mahmud Tukur, a son of a former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Mr Bamanga Tukur, as the managing director/CEO. Arkleen Oil & Gas Ltd was founded by Dr Gregory Ero, while Rainoil Limited was founded by Mr Gabriel Ogbechie, who is the company’s Group Managing Director.

Amazon Energy has Mr Trevor Akindele, a pastor at City of David Parish, Redeemed Christian Church of God, as its chairman, while Matrix Energy’s MD/CEO is Mr Abdulkabir Aliu. Aliu is the pioneer Group CEO and a founding member of the company.

Levene Energy Development Limited, is a subsidiary of Levene Energy Group whose Group Chairman and Group Vice Chairman are Mr Asue Ighodalo and HRM Nasir Ado Bayero, respectively. UTM Offshore Ltd has Mr Julius Rone as its GMD/CEO, while Vincent Ajala is the Executive Vice Chairman of Masters Energy Oil & Gas. All the forenamed executives, have one link or the other to either Buhari’s re-election campaign or the APC party.

Meanwhile, the indigenous companies, namely: Barbedos Oil & Gas Services Ltd, Petrogas Energy, Bono Energy Limited, Petratlantic Energy Limited and Eyrie Energy Ltd, failed to disclose their board of directors and management team.

The NNPC had earlier announced in May 2019, that 132 firms submitted bids for the 2019 DSDP scheme, however only the named 35 companies got the bidding.

What do you think of this story?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.